Tuesday, July 5, 2011

Bad News Bear

Just when I was finally starting to get my groove back the running injury Gods struck me down.

The past week I was loving running (which I hadn't really been since I started training). I was actually looking forward to my runs and was feeling pretty dang strong throughout them.

Saturday morning I woke bright and early naturally, around 5:23 a.m. Had a cup of coffee, got my gear on, and mentally prepared myself for the 7 I was about to take on. Before I started my left achilles was a little achey, I didn't think much of it.

So I was off. Around mile 2 my left achilles was pretty achey. Nothing happened, I didn't trip or step wrong or anything like that but BAM! right around the 2 mile mark it hurt BAD. I thought to myself "this might be bad and maybe you should stop" or "maybe you're just being a wuss and this is a mind game your head is playing just to stop running". Obviously, I went with thought #2 and ran another 5 miles. The pain was so bad it caused me to change the way I naturally run. They always say "if an injury forces you to run differently - STOP RUNNING. So I made it a point to not let it change the way I run and pushed through the pain and tried my best to run the way I always do.

Once back home I filled a bucket with ice and stuck my whole foot in. Iced it for about 20 minutes. After I iced I was immediately limping and knew this wasn't good. All day Saturday my foot/achilles/ankle was pretty tender and I couldn't put all my weight on it. So that was Saturday.

Sunday I woke up and it was bruised and super swollen and now I could put even less weight on it. Needless to say, I called off the 3 miler I had planned for that morning. I iced on and off all day, kept it elevated, and wrapped it nice and tight. That night a friend of Veej's came over, Lindsey who is an RN. She felt me up and said I definitely sprained/strained (can't remember which, one is muscle and one is tendon) my achilles and need to stay off it. Not so much surprised, I asked for how long - perhaps a day? or two? To which she responded at least 4 weeks!!!!! She went on how it's better to treat an injury at this level and be off for a short time versus keep pushing my body and end up rupturing my achilles and not be able to run for a LONG time...BLAH BLAH BLAH :(

4 weeks! Are you crazy? I have a marathon in October. I thought to myself maybe this whole Registered Nurse thing is a fluke and she doesn't know what she's talking about. But as I limped away in disbelief I thought maybe she was onto to something.

I am super bummed. I am going to ice, and stretch, and strengthen, and get better. I am giving myself two weeks off and we will go from there.

Chris is ready to kill me, he already thinks I push myself too far and now with this...YIKES! Although, this morning he did tell me "Babe, even though you have a bum foot I still think you're beautiful" :). Doesn't get much sweeter than that!

No comments:

Post a Comment