After much thought and consideration, I will not be running the Detroit Freep Marathon this year :(
For a couple different reasons.
First, this whole house building thing is a little more involved than I thought. Every night we have something to do. Whether it's running to Lowes or meeting with a contractor or walking through the house, there is always something. Time-wise, it's demanding. On top of just time, it is crazy stressful. Thinking of every detail and trying to plan what we want, where we want it, in what color. The process has definitely taken a toll on me. Then there's the whole living with the in-laws thing, which is a whole 'nother post... but the combination of everything is making out for a for a very unsuccessful training attempt.
Oh, and on top of all that my foot is still jacked. Last week I resumed training and my achilles is definitely not fully healed. I ran just under 20 miles, total, last week and iced and stretched but it still gave me issues. I figured I could try to push through but then my voice of reason (i.e. Chris) says something along the lines of "right now you're pushing through just enough to not do serious damage but what if during the marathon you get hurt and get a big fat DID NOT FINISH!" Which is worse? By far, hands down, the DNF.
I want my first marathon to be a grand celebration, not just a few hours on a Saturday in the midst of a thousand other things going on.
So this is me swallowing my pride and doing what is right for me and my family right now. Honestly, it's a little bittersweet. This has been such a heavy load on my shoulders. While I am sad that I am not (atleast in 2011) completeting something I started that means a lot to me, I am relieved I can fully concentrate on this little home of ours (which I hear is kind of a big deal).
N
No comments:
Post a Comment